GSBS Alumni Association

RU/UMDNJ Integration

About the Rutgers-UMDNJ Integration The Graduate School Of Biomedical Sciences will be transferred to Rutgers, effective July 1, 2013. As a result of this integration, you will see changes to this website. Learn more about the Rutgers-UMDNJ Integration.

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

History and Program Information

GSBS Bylaws

The mission of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences is to develop scientists who will contribute new knowledge in the biomedical disciplines through creative research and scholarship.

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS) had its origins as a Program in the Biomedical Sciences in the former Seton Hall College of Medicine and Dentistry, which was established in 1956. The State of New Jersey consolidated medical and dental education in 1965, and the GSBS became a separate school of the State's Health Sciences University in 1969. It was first established on the Newark campus of UMDNJ and was subsequently expanded to campuses in Piscataway/New Brunswick and Stratford. On July 1, 2013, as a result of the New Jersey Medical and Health Sciences Education Restructuring Act, most of GSBS merged with Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (the GSBS programs on the Stratford campus became part of Rowan University). GSBS does not have a "primary" campus - currently, the more than 700 GSBS students are well-distributed across the Rutgers Health Sciences Campus at Newark (NJMS and RSDM) and the Rutgers-New Brunswick/Piscataway (RWJMS) campuses. The programs on the two campuses differ according to the research interests of the faculty, but share the common mission articulated below. This is accomplished through a curriculum of course work and research training that prepares our students to critically evaluate existing knowledge and to advance the frontiers of new knowledge in the biomedical sciences.

The mission of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences is to develop scientists who will contribute new knowledge in the biomedical disciplines through creative research and scholarship. The two Divisions differ, however, in their research areas and programmatic structure. The requirements for admission and completion of the program are similar but are not identical. The following description is an overview, and applicants are referred to the individual Divisions' web sites for more complete information.

The programs in the Newark Division are based primarily within the basic science departments of the New Jersey Medical School. A nine-credit core course for all incoming doctoral students will cover all aspects of the Biomedical Sciences taught at this Division. The Newark Division is part of the Graduate Center at Newark, a consortial arrangement with Rutgers University Graduate School-Newark and New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). The three schools are in close proximity and have numerous joint programs.

The GSBS at RWJMS is located at the Robert Wood Johnson Medical School on the campuses in Piscataway and New Brunswick. The PhD and MS programs are joint with the Rutgers Graduate School New Brunswick, and there is a close interaction between the faculty of the medical school and many schools within Rutgers. The GSBS at RWJMS offers an umbrella Molecular Biosciences program comprised of the programs in Biochemistry, Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Physiology and Integrative Biology, Cell and Developmental Biology and Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology. Graduate programs in Neuroscience, Exposure Science and Assessment, Toxicology, and Biomedical Engineering also are offered by the GSBS at RWJMS. In addition, GSBS at RWJMS offers a Masters in Biomedical Sciences, and MS in Biomedical Sciences and an MS in Clinical and Translational Research. The GSBS at RWJMS works with RWJMS, the Graduate program in Molecular Biology at Princeton University and Rutgers Graduate School New Brunswick to offer a multi school MD PhD program with PhD offerings in the biomedical sciences and related disciplines such as Anthropogy.